Every child deserves their own books

by

I still have a few of the best: Eloise, Goodnight Moon, Angelina Ballerina, Where the Wild Things Are. Some others I’ve misplaced, or were handed down to neighbor kids, or sold at garage sales. But I remember them clearly. I remember where my bookshelf sat in my room, and how it was so full that I ripped many covers off of the books taking them on and off the shelves. I loved my childhood books.Reading

And the idea that some kids go without owning their own books makes me so sad; they are missing out on so much! And books are not only good for nostalgia and entertainment… reading books helps kids be prepared to learn once they enter kindergarten. In Elgin, 1 out of 3 children entering kindergarten aren’t prepared. And children who enter school well-prepared and ready to learn have a greater chance of succeeding.

So when Diane O’Connor at United Way of Elgin explained that the project she’s worked on for over a year is launching in February, I was ecstatic. United Way of Elgin is going to have Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library. Every child 0-5 in Elgin, South Elgin, LaFox, Hampshire or Burlington is eligible to sign up. The program will send them 1 age appropriate book every month from birth through 5 years old. Every child will have their own book library…how exciting.

And because of sponsors (Provena St. Joseph Hospital and Elgin Township), the program is completely free. It kicks off at the Gail Borden Public Library on February 22 from 1:30 to 4:30. The event includes storytellers, music, clowns and refreshments, and families will have the first chance to sign up.

Tell anyone you know with children who live in the area! For more info, click here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Every child deserves their own books”

  1. Jessica T. Says:

    Just to clarify, the families don’t have to pay anything? The page this post links to mentions $30/year.

    • unitedwayelgin Says:

      Yes, it is completely free. (The $30 is just the value of the program per year per child.) Sponsorships and grants have let us provide this to local families free.

Leave a comment