How I Live United: Norm’s Story

by

My name is Norm Turner. For the past 10 years I have worked as a volunteer with a child advocacy agency, a homeless shelter, an agency involved with disimg_10881abled and mentally challenged children and adults, and a child care center.

In all of these roles my goal is to help better the lives of children, in whatever capacity they might need it. I teach and counsel kids on subjects like bullying and family meetings, and also how to be a better son or daughter with for their parents. I also represent children who have been abused to make sure their best interests are being served. And I act as a foster grandparent of preschool children.

Many of the young parents I’ve encountered in my work as a child advocate don’t know how to be good parents. In recent times, the volume of young parents turning to the court system for relief has increased over 400%. I am currently working on a project that would improve parental skills and reduce child abuse; it also will reduce the volume of probate cases that come into our court systems.

I love to see the aftereffects of my work with kids: When kids I advocated for had their mother call me months after their case closed and asked me to attend their school’s “Best Friends Day.” When parents report behavioral improvements from their children after counseling classes. These are my rewards and motivation to keep on volunteering.

Advocating daily for our community’s children—that’s how I Live United.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment